Sign in to follow this  

Thinking of a thumper???

OK,

I have a kx125 and my dad has a wr400, i like the low end hit of a thumper, i ride alot of woods.

I am only 5'6" and i want a thumper, but not quite as fast as the 400.

I have been riding for ten years now, done a few harescrambles and go riding every other weekend with my dad and friends.

I hear the klx 300 is a nice, semi light, dependable trail bike, i'm thinking of picking one up used.

Do you guys think this would be a good bike after coming off a 125, i don't mind the weight, but would it be a lot slower then my bike, or with the free mods are they decent compared to a two smoke?

thanks to all that reply

i would think in a woods situation you would be faster on the klx then a 125(i know i am). if you wanted to take it motocrossing then you would be slower on the klx... but with the amount of usuable power this bike makes you'll be faster in the woods. if you buy it used there is a good chance it will have some mods on it. the klx is a great bike for casual trail riding.

I've just recently purchased the '05 KLX300.

It's an awesome bike. I ride trails every weekend. It's quick enough for me by far. I'm 5'8" 200lbs. If I have one complaint, It's that the stock exhaust is not the best.

For a trail bike I don't think you can go wrong.

My bike is currently all stock - but will be adding upgrades.

Thanks guys,

how do they do in deep woops?

i'm thinking if i buy one i might need gold valves,and some springs,

i'm 5'6" 135 pounds,

and i am racing district 14 harescrambles next year, are they pretty easy to start when hot?

thanks

For your weight, you will want to replace the shock spring with a lighter one and install a Gold Valve in the shock.

Ride on

Brewster