Sign in to follow this  

anyone ever spoke and true a wheel?

well, after my wreck i decided to just go with a new excel front wheel and spokes, and im wondering if lacing and truing is something i could possible do on my own, i've never done it before and i sure as hell dont wanna end up with a crooked or out of round wheel, and the bike shops here in my area are saying 90 bucks to lace and true! heck with that.. any advice??? thank you.

Hey give it a try, you won't learn anything unless you try. Besides, you probably cannot ruin it. You may try for hours on end to get it right, but if it fails, then you are not out anything but time. You can still take it to the dealer.

I have only trued a wheel, not the full blown replacement. I put the bike on a stand so I could spin the rear wheel. Then I clamped a metal bar on the swingarm, and pushed the bar right up against the rim. Then I spun the wheel and watched if the gap between the bar and the rim changed. It did a little bit. To my surprise, a little tweeking of a few spoke took out the wobble. The wobble was very slight, I could not tell when riding. I only trued the thing because I found some loose and figured it could be out.

You have to tighten the right spokes to make it go the way you want. The spokes are supposed to be in tension so you assume they only pull. They are diagonal and wider at the hub then the rim, so you the left spokes pull left and the right spokes pull right. The thing is, when you tighten one up a bit, others seem to loosen. So going small amounts of tightening is best.

But you are starting from scratch, so you also have to make the hub in the center of the rim, not just side to side alignment. So make another bar to clamp to the swingarm and nest it inside the rim. Clamp it tight, you cant have your guide be flexible or moving around on you.