Sign in to follow this  

double after a turn.....

alright heres the deal....theres this double right after a corner with about a 10-15 foot run at it at the local track...and b4 it is a step up i hit in 4th gear and then a long straight...the problem is i cant carry speed into the turn bc its not very banked....and on my 2 smoke i cant quite get into the "meat"/powereband b4 the jump....so my question is....does anyone have and tips to clear a 15-20 foot double after a sharp corner with a short run? :cry:

I'm new at this, but possibly feather the clutch to keep it in the powerband, then bounce off the seat to gain some more air?

Seat bounce. If you don't know what that is its when you compress your suspension while sitting down before you take off the lip. Remeber to keep your throttle smooth and stand up once your in the air. Sometimes you go up nose-high so tap the rear brake and you should be good. :cry:

You didn't specify the sharpness of the turn, but if it is 90 or 180 degrees or so on, you could also square up the turn. Look on the forum, I'm sure someone has explained squaring up a turn somewhere.

need some info on the turn and the bike. you said your riding a two stroke. I would run the outside of the turn, maybe square it off a bit to get the longest run possible. be smooth with the throttle. if you get really happy with it you will just spin your wheel. I had trouble for the longest time with a 90 left to an uphill double with almost no run so i had to carry all my speed through the turn with very little berm. lean your bike over keeping your weight upright and slowly roll on the throttle, short shift a little exiting the turn so you dont spin and you should be alright. If that still wont get you follow the same procedure just seat bouncing.

good luck

Nice seat bounce and throttle. Give it a little clutch to keep the RPM's up and keep your weight a little back to help load the rear (help the seat bounce) and and to give you the traction.