Sign in to follow this  

Honda CRF450 X vs. KTM 450EXC

I'm 24 years old, 5'9" and about 200 pounds, and I am a beginner interested in getting my first bike. I plan on donig mostly trail riding and a little track riding around the NJ, PA, NY area. I have narrowed my choices down to these two bikes. I've gathered that that the CRF is supposed to handle very well and be very reliable. I also really like the way it looks, plus it seems to have more of a record in cometition. The KTM on the other hand, is a 6 speed with a hydraulic clutch. I've also been told that it comes very well equipped, Brembo brakes, Renthal bars, Excel wheels, good suspension, etc. Then again I'm just not really familiar with what the Honda is equipped with in relaion to the KTM. As an aside, I'm curious about how come the KTM is a few pounds lighter than the CRF, even though it has an aluminum frame. Is that a testament to the KTM's superior equipment? I can' figure out which would be the best bike for me, and I don't expect that I'll get a chance to try any of them out, as I don't have any friends that ride (still gotta convince some to take the plunge with me).

I'd like to know which bike does actually come best equipped? Which handles best? Which inspires more confidence to the rider? Which would be best suited for the kind of riding that I'll be doing? Which will keep me better satisfied through the next few years, and whatever else I need to take into consideration at this point?