Sign in to follow this  

Autoclutch - Hill Technique

Howdy,

I am fairly new to the Rekluse z-start autoclutch. I find it works excellent, especially for technical steep uphills. I am finding that even though I get pretty far up on the tank (I could probably be a little farther forward) the bike tends to wheely when the bike hooks up really well.

I think that usually manipulating the clutch lever when this happens is the best way to eliminate looping out, but there is no clutch lever now :cry: I've tried letting off the throttle quickly but my momentum stops and getting up to the top is much more difficult.

Does anyone have any suggestions for technique when riding with the auto clutch? :cry:

:cry: Maybe tap the rear brake? I dont have any experience though, so you may not want to listen to me... Good luck. :cry:

but there is no clutch lever now :cry:

Buy the z-Start clutch perch option and you'll have a functional clutch lever again, but with a significantly reduced lever pull :cry:

I had the same trouble when I first had mine. Trick is throttle control. You have to have more feel with the throttle, maybe not use more than you need to get up the hill, then when the front starts to come up, just roll back a little bit, not shut off, just roll back enough so the front comes back down. It took me about a month to get used to it, and I'm still learning, but it makes riding easier.

Hawaiian,

That sounds like good advise. The throttle control is easier said than done. I do like to pin it. :cry:

I also liked the back brake idea. I'll have to try that too.

Buy the z-Start clutch perch option :cry:

Qadsan,

Do you use the clutch lever on your bike in my situation ?

Do you use it any differently because it has the z-start in it?