Sign in to follow this  

Pre Race Meals

I'm curious what the group eats for dinner the night before and for the race day breakfast...

I'm a newbie on dirt bikes but I've been mountain biking for a few years, and I like to have a nice pasta dish for dinner before a big ride, in addition to plenty of water. Plenty of carbs to fuel those muscles and water to keep you hydrated. As for breakfast, I like oatmeal, a bagel with cream cheese, and 2 or 3 bananas. The potassium in the bananas helps prevent muscle cramps. That's my meal plan. I'm sure there are many other schools of thought on this.

Ted,

You and I are pretty close on mealplans. When I'm Harescrambling I camp out the night before, and eat a microwaveable pasta/meat/veg cassarolle(sp?) The race morning breakfast is usually a bagel and fruit. I can't eat too much as I race in the morning.

I don't have a problem with cramping, but I often get a hungry feeling while riding, and a general tired feeling.

for mtn biking, i found it important to eat pretty lightly. if you aren't carbed up by the night before, you won't get that way by gorging yourself. all you'll do is feel heavy and bloated. same for breakfast, something light and easy to digest. i probaby did 300-400 bicycle races in the 90's, and always had my best form when i ate light meals.

for enduros, that's a whole different thing. the night before, 8-12 beers (sierra nevada or similar real beer, not some watered down crappy canned domestic pi$$) and a pizza works well for me. for breakfast, a mcd's egg mcmuffin meal (or breakfast jack meal) with a spare sammitch to stick in my backpack for lunch. yum.

funny, after racing bicycles on and off-road for 15 years, it doesn't seem to matter what i eat on the motorcycle. just a different level of exertion i guess.

mw