Sign in to follow this  

Taneum tips

will be heading out to the Taneum area and it's my first time. Was wondering about where the best place to camp with a camper/trailer rig? looks like the Taneum Junction CG is the best equipped to handle trailer rigs..

also, what about trails? this is a family event and there will be some younger riders etc.

Any good tips on some easier trails? are the trails marked as to their difficulty (like over in Naches basin area).. and lastly, do they have trail maps available at the parking/camping areas?

sorry bout all the questions..

thanks in advance

-rob

When are you planning on going? Next weekend is the opening of General Deer Season and the place gets pretty crowded with hunters. The rest of the month will be packed with elk hunters and then November it is usually too cold and snowy for any good riding. However, this weekend, should be pretty good.

Maps can be obtained at the Cle Elum Ranger District office for $4. They are pretty good maps. They are open til 4:30 on weekdays and 1 or 2pm on saturday.

Taneum Junction is a good dispersed camping area. Has lots of room, a few fire rings, pit toilet. There are 3 trails that leave from Taneum Junction (Gooseberry Flats, Taneum Ridge 1363 and N. Fork Taneum 1377). Sorry, I'm trying to this from memory, I don't have a map in front of me.... There aren't really any kids riding areas at Taneum Jct. Kids can rip up and down the parking lot, but that gets old real quick and pisses off other campers.