Sign in to follow this  

Anyone had gearbox problems ?

Hi,

One of my friend had his gear box freezes on him.

He has the 1st gear and neutral but then nothing else.

Engine runs.

Anyone had any similar issues ?

He opned the clutch side, everything seems ok.

Thanks

Christian

Its a little plastic gear behind the clutch housing that is either stripped of teeth or itb bolt has backed out.

That don't sound good! ut oh maybe you should have used silkolene instead of that off brand oil! :cry:

The plastic gear behind the clutch is the oil pump idler gear,, don’t see any way it could effect the transmission :cry:

Though I also do not have an opinion as to what you will find wrong, and causing your issue,, Burned might though.

The teeth on that plastic gear sheared off on mine and all I had was 1st and nuetral as I am not a mechanic but that is what happened to me so I thought it could be a possibility :cry: I could be wrong. :cry:

(((The teeth on that plastic gear sheared off on mine and all I had was 1st and nuetral ))

If it's that big tan plastic gear, I wouldn't think that would enterfere with shift unless your sheared teetch got into the mechanism. I kept hearing about the gear breaking and recently saw someone post a pic , thats a big gear, I was thinking it was much smaller and more fragile. Still I wonder what it is that makes it want to strip it's teeth on some bikes?

Or where the stress on that gear comes into play, or what scenarios would pressure it. I was thinking severe cold starts with heavy oil might, but your running the redline synthetic so that should have good flow at cold temps.

It's just kind a weird

(((The teeth on that plastic gear sheared off on mine and all I had was 1st and nuetral ))