Sign in to follow this  

uh oh.. another advice request for a tire size question (sorry)

XR 650L .. OEM rim 18" x 2.50"

Street use only. Hard riding, tight in corners....

120/80/18 120/90/18 130/80/18 or 130/90/18 ?

Thanks in advance for your advice and suggestions !!!!!!

Brian

Remember, it's a dirtbike with dirtbike suspension. Get a tire that will match the suspension. If you've adjusted your bike for street riding, then you might pose this question on the Motard Section, as I see some of those bikes on the street.

Sorry, I'm no suspension expert, that would be for the suspension section here. A dirtbike on the street permanently? I'd go buy a streetbike. My bike's plated, but that's just for the Dual Sport Rides I go on.

Good luck! :cry:

It's not a suspension question. And no offense... I don't want a street bike. I love dirt bikes. Always have, always will. So for someone who has always loved dirtbikes, and wants the best of both worlds, what better than to buy a project bike and start building it for permanent street use ! :cry: (If I wanted to go that route.. aka motard, I'd probably get a KTM.. but I love my XR toooo much to let it go)

Which is probably why I'm getting little response to what tire size is best to go with for my application.

I've narrowed the width down to 120... But I just can't figure out in my head which profile would be the *most* beneficial.. the 80 or the 90. I see alot of guys overseas that have the XR use either a 120/90 or 130/90 but my thought is that with an 80 series there would be less roll in a tight corner. But if I was right, then wouldn't there be alot more people running the 120/80 ?