Sign in to follow this  

Jumping control and confidence? need help

hey guys. Ive been riding dirtbikes for about 4 months worth of weekend riding. I rode quads for 4 years on trail and mx. When i go to the local track the beginner track has a little double. I go on that and i also go on the big table top on the expert track (when its empty). I was feeling pretty confident on my jumps up until this weekend when i let off the throttle too soon on the beginner double and nosedived and crashed.

I know why that happened and that was just stupidity. But the problem i realized i always had was that i never really have control when im jumping. 90% of the time i land perfect (10% i land a lil off, but havent crashed until now)but i feel that that is just because the bike is launching right. I dont feel IM launching right. INstead of me jumping the bike i feel like the bike is just jumping and im along for the ride. IT doesnt feel natural. I launch off the jump in the attack position and pretty balanced but i still dont feel like im balanced in a way that i can manipulate the bike in the air. I look at the guys gracefully flying over these huge doubles on teh expert track and they look like they have full control.

Are there any tips to getttin rid of this problem? i try to stay balanced on my feet but i have to put SOME weight on the bars because i am usually accelerating and i cant keep my balance while accelerating that hard.

I cant figure out how to control the bike instead of the bike control me. Even if i hit this little jump i cant keep a consistent landing. It seems like the bike goes however teh jump feels like popping me (nose high or nose low, or even) Even if "I" am balanced, i still dont feel like im one with the bike. I can be straight up, but for some reason the nose will drop. HOw do you make yourself land right? any help would be greatly appreciated.

and yes, i did a search.

I probably not explaining it too well but thats the best i can do.