Sign in to follow this  

acrylic nails + riding = ?

Hey girls this is a serious question even though it might sound embarrasingly girly!

Do any of you have acrylic/gel/fibreglass/false nails and what are they like riding? I used to have them before I started riding and I want to get them again but not sure if I'll end up breaking them (anyone who has had them will know the pain I am talking about...)

I have acrylic nails. They never have bothered me when riding but I do keep them on the short/active length side.

Just don't crash!!!! :cry:

thanks.

I used to have ones about a quarter of a inch off the end of my fingers - that would be too long i guess. I'd have to buy new gloves too my fingers only just fit in them now. So you don't knock them at all? Knowing me I probably would cos i would be thinking about it too much!

I went a few times back when I had nails, and they hurt; the end of the gloves (which did fit) pushes them in and they get really sore afterwards. Even if your gloves are long enough, they might still push on the ends. If they were fairly short you might be ok.

The good thing is, they're strong enough to act as great screwdrivers! My real nails are so soft I can't even open a beer can with them or anything normal like that.

same here! I have to get someone else to open cans for me too. Oww i can imagine they might get pushed in in gloves. Woe is me - I am torn between beauty and riding!!

I've NEVER had acrylic nails! :cry: So I wouldn't know about those... although my natural nails grow pretty well, and I know when those are too long they get in the way of my rock climbing, although I've never had them bother my riding... I think if you can choose something other than 'dragonlady' length, you'll be ok! :cry:

I had acrylics, although they do not do well around some of the stuff you clean air cleaners with.. But no worries, I can't have them anyway since I started playing guitar. They are too thick and I can't fret!