Sign in to follow this  

Buying a used XR400???

Hello! This is my first post. This site is really nice! I am seriously considering buying a used 96' XR400 with a Baja Designs kit from a guy who lives out of state. He is going to be able to drop it off to me on his way out west. He has sent me about 12 pics of it and it looks really nice. I am new to the dirt bike scene and wanted to know if anyone could give me some good specific questions to ask him about the bike and what to look for in a used bike. Thanks for any help!

Jon

Farnsrocket, welcome to TT.

The XR is probably one of the best bikes to buy used cause they're so durable and reliable. :cry:

How much $$$$ is he asking for the '97 XR? :cry:

Yes, welcome. You will find a wealth of information here and many interesting (Sometimes flamin') conversations.

Be careful. If you're like me, you'll be doing all the mod's mentioned here just to see what they do.

1 hr ridin', 1 hr moddin', 1 hr ridin', 1 hr moddin'... :cry:

(I bought mine new so don't have a specific answer to your question. I do know that the XR is about the most bullet-proof bike you can get, so it would have to be downright abused for it to be in bad shape. But that can happen! Running with no/low oil, not cleaning the air filter - (check the air filter and box that it's in. If really dirty it's probably a danger sign. Those are a couple.)

Wow!!! that sounds like a killer deal, snatch that baby up and hit the dusty trails, or with the Baja Designs Kit take the road to the trails. Oh yea, Welcome to TT. Slo

I would be asking to check the swingarm pivot bolt isn't siezed in. I have had 2 XR4's which had this problem. 1st one required 2 tonne press to remove, the other had to be cut out, NOT GOOD!

Also bent XR4's tend to flake paint off around and just behind the steering head, be sure to check this as the frame is also the oil tank and you don't want that area to be weak! :cry: