Sign in to follow this  

newbie with the usual questions

Hi all

New DRZ owner as of last night from wales uk (gods country :cry:) previously ridden trials bikes.

Bought a '03 's' model in absolute showroom condition which came with the stock sprockets and trailwing tyres but had it stored at a friends garage until i'd built myself a garage and passed my test.

Will be mainly 75% road 25% dirt useage so I was looking for general advice on gearing.

The bike currently has offraod biased sprockets so I may either change to the stock items or maybe even higher gearing to prevent the bike from revving too high when road riding-opinions?

Offroad isnt an issue for me as i'm no expert so performance wise offroad wont bother me, itll be just plain trail riding and i'll be happy to poodle along at my own pace.

Tyres which came on it are michelin enduro star which i found ok on the road but slightly noisy and not really suited to the use that the bike will get so will be looking to put the trailwings back on. opinions?

Future plans are to maybe invest in some sm wheels next year, lighten the bike a little as I had some difficulty getting it up my steps to the house last night.

And also to do something with the number plate mount as its a bit on the large side :cry:

What is the recommended oil change and air filter change intervals for these bikes?

The engine braking seems a bit harsh so will be looking to drill some holes between the baffle pipe and outer ring on the stock exhaust.

After riding it last night I didnt like the way the bike revved so high when i did around 50-60mph so gearing is the priority.

When my camera batteries are charged i'll take a picture of it.

Any opinions greatly appreciated.

regards

The engine braking seems a bit harsh so will be looking to drill some holes between the baffle pipe and outer ring on the stock exhaust.

14.gif

14.gif