Sign in to follow this  

Theory of James Dean's Kit and Carb Tuning

James,

I ordered one of your kits for a KTM 525 recently. My brother told me just to order jets one size larger but obviously your knowledge and technique goes much deeper then this (in fact, you recommend a smaller jet). Could you do a write up showing the theory behind your kits and tuning for us tech geeks. I know it has a lot to do with the needle tapper but that just wets the appetite.

Also, do you has a swiss type lathe or what do you use to build your kits. I know you don't want to give away trade secrets but any information would be interesting. My brother thought the kit was expensive but I don't think he realizes the expense of running a machine shop. I hope he can appreciate the experimenting and research you had to do to achieve such great results!

I am an engineer for UAB building space flight hardware and rarely get a chance to play with motors even though automotive type stuff is my passion. I would really love to have a better understanding of stoichiometrics of these carbs.

Thanks,

Icemanbhm :cry:

The pilot and main jets primarily meter fuel at idle and full throttle, while the needle is everything in-between. In addition, the needles affect both idle and full throttle too, due to the overlapping effects.

The kit needles are custom made and have 2 different straight diameters and 3 tapers each with specified lengths and angles to make the fuel delivery (and power) the most effective thruout the throttle range. These were determined the hard way, by trial and error testing. It helped to graph the profiles and have an understanding of where each dimension affects performance.

The needles are made to a tolerance of +/-.0002" and I check them and reject off-sizes. They're difficult to make consistently at this tolerance, but it's a requirement to get the performance.