Sign in to follow this  

TE510 opinions

Calling all Husky Guru's,

Do I replace my 04 525EXC with an 05 TE510?

I was a Husky deciple back in the early nineties and I have been waiting for Husky to catch-up on the KTOOM's technology. Have they caught up with there latest gorgeous offering?

Here in OZ the bike prices are about the same so thats not a factor.

Is the stock suspension better than the KTM's. I've spent many hours & money trying to get the KTM suspension to a happy medium but I'd rather just buy and ride.

Any comments appreciated

O.K., I'll chime in first. (but let me say up front, I AM NOT A HUSQVARNA CHEERLEADER!) I don't know the reason for replacing a one year old bike but I will say that one of the reasons I got rid of my KTM was the suspension. (the other was the dealer was an A-Hole) I could not get comfortable with the rear suspension on my KTM. I am not an expert or pro by any messure, but the rear end had a mind of it's own. I dont know if it was the link-less aspect or what, I just know it would decide on it's own to bite you in the a$$ sometimes.

As far as the Husky suspension, it's not perfect as delivered FOR MY WIEGHT, but the bike behaves like you would exspect even when too soft.

If you have accsess to a good dealer, that makes all the difference.

So far I have had ZERO problems with my bike (other than my friends not wanting to give it back when they ride it)and I have only had to adjust my valves once after a VERY CARFUL BREAK-IN. (just checked last week and they are perfect)

I would try to bum a ride on one, I try to let as many people as I can ride my 450...just so they undrstand why I'm always giggling to myself.

Maybe one of the mags will do a head to head 525-510

Happy roosting :cry:

Excellent feedback, I know some of the guys here with KTMs reckon they've got "weird" suspension habits.

But I just had to post and say that your after seeing your login name, all I could think of was Newcastle Brown Ale...