Sign in to follow this  

hare scrambles

what's the key point to riding a hare scramble? How long do they usually last? i am new to racing off road and might think of trying it next summer. Any tips? i already went to see the trails ( just a ride)on a kx 80, i could handle them on that but the wr is a little bit bigger, any tips for running in rutted areas where it's a very tight fit?

H/S is like an off road terrain MX. First guy in wins. Each class is off in waves , 1 minute apart. Track is usually about 10 miles long and you will go about 5 laps for 50 miles or 2 hours.

Cher'o,

Dwight

Dwight, are you coming to our Oct 17th Hare Scrambles?

If so, please look me up.

Frank

Sorry, I am prepping a Hodaka Combat Wombat 125 for the ISDT reunion ride the following weekend. I am racing this weekend in the rain , in Wiggins, MS.

Cher'o,

Dwight

Another n00b question:

I am also thinking about trying H/S next season, but I doubt me and my bike could last that long without fluid replenishing. In the 2hour, ~50 mile H/S races, can you take pit stops for fuel, water, ect? :cry:

Another n00b question:

I am also thinking about trying H/S next season, but I doubt me and my bike could last that long without fluid replenishing. In the 2hour, ~50 mile H/S races, can you take pit stops for fuel, water, ect? :cry:

Sure, of course. I stopped last weekend on a 54 mile race about 3 laps in to take on 1 gallon of fuel.

Cher'o,

Dwight

Also for water a camelback or other drink system can be worn on your back so you can drink while riding. I like the camelback moto models (charge and rev) that are low profile and fit under the chest protector. Very comfortable and carry 3 or 2 liters. :cry:

how are the differnt classes chosen, by bikes? Ive been riding for 2 years now and i can do just about any trail (mabey a little slow on the technical stuff) but how do you know when your "ready" to take on a H/S? thanks