Sign in to follow this  

idle won't stay consistent

My bike has been acting wierd lately :cry: If i let it idle for a few seconds it will rev up 500rpm like it's lean. I've adjusted the fuel screw but it doesn't help at all on the problem. I checked the throttle cables and hot start nither are binding. My valves are all in spec and i couldn't find an airleak. :cry: I pulled the carb apart and cleaned it out also. And yes the air filter is clean :cry: I can't find the culprit at all and have run out of ideas.

I'm hoping it was a common problem for a 2002 crf and i just couldn't find it in my search. :cry:

My jetting is a 42pj-172mj-4th from the top on the needle.

Thanks

Bill :cry:

I'm no expert, but the first thing I would suspect is an airleak or the hotstart maybe sticking. Being that it just started doing this with no mods, narrows it down a bit.

For sure... You did everything I would suggest doing. It sounds like a lean condition. I would suspect an air leak. The top cover of the carb is known to get loose. I'd also check the sealing rings where the airboot joins with the airbox. Of course the clamps on the carb. Clean the carb again?

What about something simple like throttle cable operation or fuel screw?

Does it pop on deceleration?

If that doesn't fix it I'm stumped. :cry:

Do a search on (hanging idle). It seems that these newer crf's with the FCR carb idle real weak. I've read a few post where people had to richen the pilot jet up some , also where some lowered it to solve. My problem with the hanging idle was the carb slide plate had a bad seal. I had to spend $60 to get a new throttle plate that came with the seal I needed. My final jetting was a 45pilot 4th clip position and 165 main. ported head sea level trx valves heavy duty springs

It sounds like the classic floating valve coming loose. I used gasket sealer to get it to stay put on my carb slide as the oring doesnt hold the two together over time.