Sign in to follow this  

More sand riding.....

In looking through some of the sand techniques, I find that almost all of them indicate that weight back is the way to go. I've found that I feel much more stable with weight far forward.

The sand is very rutted up. Many ATVs and trucks use these arroyos, and the ruts are not across the trail, rather wandering along inside it instead.

Also.. before anyone tries this and kills themselves, keep in mind I am new at this.

I ride in the sand arroyos behind my house, and sometimes the sand is so soft that it feels more like talcum powder. I was keeping my weight back, but my front wheel was drifting all over the place getting distracted by deep ruts... it felt like it was going to spoon out at any moment. On one occasion I started to climb up a large dune, got my weight forward, and voila... noticed that things became very stable. Started to ride forward on the flats, and found that the back wheel would now drift around a bit, but that the front was sticking and tracking much better.

Also figured out to really weight hard on the outside peg for turns. Lean the bike, not the body. That really helped out a bunch too. Not sure what I am doing wrong with the weight thing. Probably should go out tomorrow for a really long ride :-)

-f-

Well it sounds like your on the right track already. In general having your weight back helps, especially when beginning to ride in sand. Once you become more comfortable your going to acquire your own style and will know when to shift weight backwards or to keep a centralized weight bias. It's all about practice and getting the right feel for the bike which seems like your acquiring already. I would just keep at it....practice...practice...practice... :cry: