Sign in to follow this  

2004 WR250 Engine Jammed?

Help! My WR250 came to a screeching halt after it idled about 1 minute. The sound from the engine was somewhere between a screech and a thud. The engine restarted OK but did the same thing after another minute. I tried the kick starter and it turned over freely with good compression. The engine was cold so it doesn't seem a seizure, but more like something was getting jammed. The bike only has 250 miles on it and I've change the oil 3 times, also check the oil level every ride. At this point I hesitate to run it anymore for fear of causing major damage. Any ideas?? Can the starter motor re-engage and hang up (the sound seemed to come from the front left of the motor)? During the last ride it ran great, however the valve train did seem a lttle loud when it got hot. I'm new to 4 strokes, so this is new territory for me. Any help would be appreciated!

2004 WR250, Grey Wire Mod, Airbox Modification, YZ Exhaust.

if i had to take a shot in the dark at this i'd say your cams have galled their journals. just a guess though. my advice is to go to the 250F FAQ (see index link in my sig below) and follow the instructions for checking valve clearances:

http://www.thumperfaq.com/valves.htm

this inspection will take you around 45 minutes to an hour.

what you need to do is have a look at where the cams sit in the head. so remove the valve cover, then take the cams out and inspect the cam journals and the mating surfaces on the cams. if there are uneven, rough, or otherwise marred surfaces you have a bit of work to do. in some cases the cam(s) will have discolored from excessive heat; you may see a bluish-gray area where the cam meets the journal. if either the journals or cams are indeed hosed up i would contact someplace like

http://www.enginedynamics.com/services.shtml

and send them pics of your cams and journals for advice and/or a quotation on repairs.