1977 vs 2004 (jumping a 27 year gap!)

I just got an XR400 after TOO MANY years with no motorcycle. Well I couldn't sleep a few nights ago, so I got up and created a collage of photos from 1977 (when I was an expert* class motocross racer) and 2004 (when I'm an old fart who still loves to ride) just for fun.

1977 vs 2004 (jumping a 27 year gap!)

* An ignorant question from someone who's been out of the sport for so long; Do they still call the classes Novice, Amature and Expert? It seems like I've seen the middle class referred to as "Intermediate" and the best local class called "pro" in some magazines. Is that right? In the old days local "Experts" competed for money, but "Pro" was reserved for guys like Marty Smith who traveled the country and competed for national championships. I have lots of other "ignorant" questions, but I'll save them for another post!

Does anyone else have "then vs now" photos they could share? Who has jumped the the biggest "gap"???

Lol, nice pics. yea they still do class races.

YoungVSOldBarry_wYears.jpg

nice air :cry: then and now.

That's awsome, and good air for that tank. Once I went a month without riding, it was terrible :cry:

good air for that tank.

which tank? :cry:

How come your poppin a bigger wheelie and getting bigger air in the newer pictures? :cry:

What progress bikes have made. A new "trail bike" has tons better suspension and lands from jumps much softer than a "full blown" MX bike way back in 1977! You should have seen the suspension on my first CR125! My back still aches just thinking about it. You young motocrossers have it so plush now....of course you also jump about 5 times higher than we did back then!

great pics man. Bikes are leaps and bounds from year to year. Hop on a bike from the 90s vs a current model and you wont believe the difference as well. My drz has way better suspension then my 86 rm250 had. what made you go XR? you didnt want a wr450?:cry: