I am a newb, and i need major help with my 250X(please help)

Okay, I'm 14. I go out to ride my 250X and i find a dark blue sticky sludgish substance under the end of the left swingarm....my grandpa said that it had been there for about 2 months...my question is, What is the blue substance, and how can i stop the leaking....Btw. there was some white smoke that would come out of th tailpipe whenever i would give it gas, and finally it just started sputtering and shut off.....thanks a million for any help. : :cry:

nobody is coming. also why doenst anyone except an idle "whyzee" use the chat feature?

If you have white smoke it is possible that you're burning oil. The blue sticky stuff is almost certainly air filter oil. Most probably you are using too much. I know someone will say that oil burns blue but if you have a lot of it it is possible to get white smoke. Perhaps you overfilled the engine after an oil change :cry:

thank you very much..so how do i fix this problem???

White 'smoke' is usually steam, and can be indicative of a head gasget failure or some other failure that allows coolant into the combustion chamber.

Are you losing coolant?

i really have no clue...it could be coolant, and there is white smoke..its not heavy, but its there...how much money is this going to take to fix :cry: :cry: :cry:

First go and check the coolant level, its under the rear fender on the left side if you are facing it from the back. There are 2 lines, it should be between the two. Try reading your owners manual sometime too, it kinda helps. :cry: :cry: :cry:

yea i hav the manual right beside me but its kinda hard to understand...like if they had colors and stuff and pictures of what they were talking about instead of just black and white drawings, it wuold help, but im a noob so whatever.. :cry: