Sign in to follow this  

My first ride- impressions, story, questions

Well today was my first ride on the YZ250F! I've been riding and racing street bikes for a few years, but heard moto-x'ing is great for training and good to fullfill those off season blues so I decided to try the dirt thing out. I can already tell its not going to be an accessery to the road riding but another seperate obsession completely. I was looking for a 125 to start but every one I found was trash or too far, found a highly modded '00 RM250 for a good deal and settled for that as a first bike, I wasn't really being cocky thinking because I ride a 1000 on the street/track I could handle a 250 on the dirt no problem, but figured if I understand its a powerful bike and take it easy with a careful right wrist I'd be alright, didn't take long before I found out that bike is a monster and I have no business trying to learn on it. So once again I set out to find a 125 when a friend told me the YZ250F is where its at. Found a smokin' deal on one on e-bay, it was in North Carolina, the closest part of NC is less than 2 hours away so I figured how far can it be, talked to the guy and it turned out it was in the very bottom corner, about 9 hours away crap! that weekend was the AMA Superbike and Supermoto races at VIR so I convinced him to deliver it to me there in exchange for a free set of tickets for him and his son.

Its a 2001 and pretty much bone stock and I plan to keep it that way, except for a few functional things, already ordered a '03 cam and a set of bark busters, he added a hydraulic clutch which i really like as well as a side stand, that came in handy i couldn't count how many times today, and did the all the free mods.