Sign in to follow this  

Hatfield-McCoy

Since I am new to the Greensboro NC area, I was wondering if people around NC go to WV to Hatfield-McCoy ?

Any people experienced with that area? What does it have? Their website mostly shows quads, and their video of trail difficulties also just shows quads. Is it a bunch of slick clay where quads do better than bikes? I think I will be in the market soon for a new toy, I wanted a 2-wheeler but I could go with 4 if it was better in this area. Also, what about winter, does it get all snowed over, or is it just a week or so. I don't know what the elevation is around there, I would guess that would make a difference.

we just went to browning-rockhouse trails at H&M and they are more quad oriented. there were sporadic sections of this oily slick stuff oozing from the ground(my only guess would be it was some sort of oil from the coal) made for nervous riding even after 2 weeks without rain. i'd hate to go there after a rain,it'd be like ridin on snot! but don't go to the other side,stay on two wheels :cry:

It is better for a quad rider, however if you like a change in scenery then it is definitley there.

If you want to find out first hand I am going up next Sat. 30th morning for a day ride, you are welcome to tag along. I am going to meet a group from NY. They are doing it right with a 2 night stay. I just have a lot of time constraints on me.

There is also an area that is a lot closer to home for us it is just above Bluefield. I have been there 3-4 times and plan on going up a lot more. :cry: :cry:

That ncmotorsportspark place is $300 a year membership and they only have 10 miles of trails. That basically sucks. It looks like they are still building the place though.

450TrailRider, Bluefield looks like it is a long ways off as well, are you sure its closer?