After one kick she does start

But all is not well

As the throttle is slowly opened

She sputters like hell

Once opened past a quarter

The engine revs to the sky

But if timid on the throttle

She continues to die

Ah... cold weather is settling in. I have had enough winters to last a lifetime, but I'm stuck here until further notice.

I am new to TT, and I have to say that there is plenty of information on this site to keep me busy for a long time ! Very nicely done !! I have read MANY MANY posts, and all of the FAQS/TIPS/HOWTOS... all full of useful info. However, I have a question I havn't found a direct answer to... Stock jetting, and the frigid North Air.

I have a virgin TTR125. No mods of any form have been done. Also, it has less than 10 miles on it ( if I continue to let my wife ride it, it will be a "collector" before it hits a 100 miles ). :cry:

The first ride on the bike was ( ME ) at home, and the temp was around 70degF. I had no trouble whatever. It started well, and rode fine. Last weekend, however, we went to the North Woods to teach the wife how to ride... ( She's much better at cooking, but I'll give her time ). She kept killing it. The temp was about 35degF.

At first I thought it was her inexperience. Killing the engine a hundred times is par for the course, right ? Maybe so, but as I listened to the engine it seemed to be more than her letting out the clutch too quickly on an empty throttle. So I jumped on the bike myself and tested it. Sure enough, if the throttle is SLOWLY opened, it will die immediately. If I gave it a little punch, it would open up ,but with a slight hesitation. I figure from all of my reading that the "RPM death" has to do with being lean( thanks of course to TT and it's posters ! )