Sign in to follow this  

Little person, BIG bike...tips please

Hello

I plan on purchasing a RMZ250 or CRF250 coming from my CR85 big wheel. The only problem comes in when I factor in the size and weight of the bike. I've ridden an 05 YZ125 and found the weight to be no issue at all, lol, however with the four strokes, how heavy do you think they would feel to a 125 pound 5'3" rider?

Any tips on handling the bike through corners, jumping, etc, would be awesome

thanks

I'm 5'5/120 and have a KX250F. I have to tippy-toe it...but the weight is not bad...you just get used to it. As far as tips for cornering, etc...I am still learning so I can't help you there.

At 5',6" with a short inseam, sitting on my CRF450 can be difficult. I have researched the various options with their pros and cons:

1. Seat Carving: One of your best choices, provided you know what you are doing or have an upholsterer do it. You can knock a good amount down. The downside is that you may (or may not) have to adjust ergos in relation to the new sitting space, and if too much is taken off the seat, you could very well feel frame rails at the least convenient moments.

2. Suspension Revalve: I had my KTM 300EXC revalved for woods stuff, even though it worked great stock. It is now perfect for my height. The same can be done with MX bikes. They can lower the front and rear as well if you request, without giving up anything over large jumps. The down side is that your ground clearance will be less so if you ride on tracks with huge rutts, you could possibly have a clearance problem. If you go this route, make sure it is a reputable suspension tuner, as any hack can do just that to your suspension.