Sign in to follow this  

oil filter o-ring

hey guys after reading through some posts I thought I would check for the small oil-ring sure enough I lost it 😢 dont know how long its been gone 😢 one two mabe three oil changes I dont know how much oil bypasses the filter without the o-ring I hope not alot. Has anyone bought a o-ring from a hardware store before? ive had the bike three years this is something you loose the first time not the 50th time I must have drain bramage 😢 from hitting all the trees 😢

To be on the safe side go down to your local auto parts store and get one. As a scube tech I can assure you that O-rings are made out of several materials and not all are impervious to oil and even fewer to gas, and yes there is a good chance that some gasoline molecules find their way into the oil. Just make sure you also get one with all three dimensions the same: inner diameter, outter diameter and the diameter of the 0-ring itself.

From Ronayers.com:

The small o-ring, p/n 09280-13004, $1.01 ea.

The larger, filter cover o-ring, p/n 09280-54001, $1.80 ea.

My last two services at my local dealer they charged me $2.50 for the little ring and get this...$10.00 for the larger o-ring. Shame on them for gouging 😢

DYI from here on out. 😢

I had to go in and get a filter at my dealership a few months ago. I also asked for the smaller o-ring, and they said that Suzuki only recommends changing it after every 3rd or so oil change. It may be true that is all that is necessary, but it says right in the owner's manual and in the shop manual to change it after EVERY change. For some reason this just bothered me and I thought I'd share.