Sign in to follow this  

Brake bleeding woes

Replaced my brake line at the front with a stainless one, I have got fluid coming out at the bottom bleed hole . When I close the bleeder she won't pump up at all. Right now I am going to let it sit overnight with the res. cover off so hope fully some air will come out over night. Help me if you can.....I have never experienced this before and I thought I was a mechanic!

they are a pain that's why it is best to use a power bleeder and some times they are still contary.the puppy's seem to make air,

I take my caliper off the fork and set it on a steel bar a little wider than the disk in a vise on my work bench. the caliper is just a little higher than the master cylnder like this, and it seems to make pushing the air out a little easier. Gotta have the bike real close to the bench for brake line to reach, and to be able to work the lever and the bleeder at the same time. Hope this helps. 😢

Craig

I am getting no pressure buildup at all! I took the caliper off and hung it up so that it was higher than the lever. Could it be that the master cylinder is blown? My front brakes were becoming worse and worse (spongy) a fellow rider suggested that I replace the brake hose to get the lever feel back now I have lost the lever altogether! I just ordered a master cylinder rebuild kit from service honda. I hope I can figure this out so I can ride this weekend!

Jason, try keeping the lever pulled in overnight. For some reason, this always works for me.

It seams to take forever to ge tall the air out of the line after working on the system.

I am going to pull the whole assembly (lever, caliper) off and bring it in to my work and let our mechanics mess with it. I just hope I can ride this weekend......we are running out of nice weather in the midwest!