Sign in to follow this  

New bike

I hate it when people make a post like this, but I'm looking for some BIASED opinions.

I will be getting a new bike for next season. I was looking at the CRF450 but then thought the YZ450F would be better. Now I'm thinking about the CRF again.

I'm a novice racer. I've read the 4-speed on the YZF is a little less forgiving for a rider of my skill, but I heard the Honda is more prone to valve failure.

I'm not brand loyal, but I have never had trouble with Yamaha in the past.

Please give me some opinions.

I have owned both brands... Yamahas and Hondas... This has included a 2001 YZ250F, and an '02, '03, '04, and '05 CRF450. I have also swapped rides with KTM, YZ426F and YZ450F owners, and a host of Yamaha, Honda, Suzuki, and Kawasaki 2-strokes.

I have never had any mechanical problems with my Yamaha or Honda rides. Both brands produce motocycles that are extremely well built, can be raced MX, Enduro, Cross Country, or equipped for other types of off-road riding.

Over time, the manufacturers will move toward a consensus on what the buying public likes for modern 4-strokes. Hondas didn't make the big hit power of the Yamaha, so Honda but in a bit more hit this year, and Yamaha moved toward more controllable power. Yamaha will likely put the aluminum frame on their '06 4-strokes to lighten up a bit and take on the handling character of Hondas... just as Honda thinned down their 5th generation frame to make it flex more like a steel frame.

Take as an example the similarities in recent 250 2-strokes. All brands make nearly the same power, and only have subtle differences in ergonomics, frame, suspensions, and fit and finish. Choose which color you like best and go for it. The rider still makes the biggest difference in competition.