Sign in to follow this  

Noob with clutch question

Great forum...real informative. I am new to off road bikes, but own an R1. I have an 04 YZ250F that I have been Mercilessly beating on. I think it has finally taken its toll. When in first gear (not rolling; stopped), clutch engaged..the bike still wants to roll. Feels like my clutch is slipping. If this is so, what are my remedies? What parts do I need to correct the problem?

😢 :cry: 😢

Dirtbikes have more clutch drag with the clutch in than streetbikes do. It's natural to have a little drag with the clutch in -- that's why it's easiest to start a dirtbike with the bike in neutral.

But excessive drag with the clutch in would imply that the clutch needs adjustment. Does the clutch start to disengage right away as you pull in the lever? If not, adjust it some and see if the drag decreases to just a little. 😢

Hi....If you have the lever pulled in, the clutch is disengaged, released the clutch is engaged. If you mean disengaged, then the clutch isn't slipping, it's dragging. It needs to be adjusted if this is the case....your owners manual should tell you the proper procedure.

At least, that's what I think the answer is, based on your wording...."When in first gear (not rolling; stopped), clutch engaged..the bike still wants to roll. Feels like my clutch is slipping."

I'm assuming you mean you're stopped with the clutch lever pulled in......

Correct assumption

my bike is rolling forward with the clutch lever pulled in. i will try adjusting it and see if that helps. thanks!

Correct assumption

my bike is rolling forward with the clutch lever pulled in. i will try adjusting it and see if that helps. thanks!

do a search in the yz/wr 250 forum, a lot of remidies and disc. about it

Dennis

A cold engine that you're running a heavy wt. oil in will do the same thing.