Sign in to follow this  

Help

Ok, I am new to TT and to OHVs of the two wheel variety. I am familiar with the dreaded 4 wheeled, 2 stroked beast. I want to get a 4 stroke bike, but I am having trouble finding what I should purchase for my first motorcycle. I went to the Honda/Suzuki dealer and he wanted to sell me an XR400. The Kawasaki dealer didn't listen to me and just wanted to sell a bike. I went to the Yamaha/KTM dealer and after listening to what I want and my motorcycle credentials, they suggested either a TTR-230 or TTR-250. I just want to know if these will be enough bike for me until I can at least become an intermediate motorcycle rider. I am 5'10" and 240 lbs. I live in Missouri and ride mostly at a state park that used to be a lead mine. There are good trails there, as well as some good straights and infields to ride on. My buddy has a CRF250X and I will be riding with him. I know I won't keep up in the wide open spaces, but will I be ok for riding around the trails? Thanks.

I think the XR400 would be a great bike for you. It's not bad for a beginner rider of your size and as you get better on the bike there are TONS of upgrades you can do to make it better (pumper carb, suspension work, etc.) The up-side to the XR is that it's bullet proof. Change the oil and keep the filter clean and it should run forever. I know, I've got a '96 XR 400 still sitting in my garage next to my KTM.

I think you're too big a guy for a TTR. I think you'll be happiest with the XR400. And it lends itsself nicely to modification for your size/weight and the type riding you want to do, except for supercross type riding.

Thanks for the input. I guess I will be looking at the XR400. I wasn't too sure about the TT-R250 because I thought I might grow out of it pretty quickly. I won't be doing any supercross stuff, trailryder, so I should be ok. Now I just need to find a dealer that has one, they don't seem to be too popular anymore because of the CRFs coming out.