Sign in to follow this  

Age & Speed?

Here's the deal...

I started riding MX @ 36.5 years old - I turned 38 on 9-27. 😢 Given the seasonal nature of riding here in Utah, I've made HUGE gains in the past (2) seasons - especially this year.

I'm currently training to gain strength/endurance and rip down to 170lbs over the winter.

Obviously fitness plays a major roll in MX, but I want to know if my expectation of "peaking" @ MX (relative only to myself) around the age of 42 is reasonable. In other words, do you guys think it's resonable for me to expect to continually improve and get faster for the next 3-4 years given good health and training?

I know there are very fast guys out there in their mid + 40s, but they've been riding for decades in many cases. My curve is much, much shorter.

I think it's all up to you. There are alot of 40+ riders out there that are still A riders. Starting later in life does make it harder but if you work hard enough I dont see why you can't be fast.

In all honesty, the only thing I see keeping me (or anyone for that matter) back is health and fitness. If my fitness level can increase or even be maintained, all I need to do is spend time on the bike.

What's your training routine like now, Shifter? Be sure to mix in several different kinds of workouts, or you risk getting repetitive motion syndrom problems. Especially as you get older, you have to be careful not to overwork your bod. Listen to your elders, son. I'm 47 next Monday! 😢

My main workout for many years has been lap swimming freestyle, but my doc (a great sports-oriented doc) kept telling me to mix in other strokes or I risked RMS problems. At the time, I wasn't any good at the other strokes, and didn't like working on them.