Sign in to follow this  

1 down 4 up. Get rid of neutral. move it to a separate lever

is it time to change the basic transmission and get rid of false neutrals forever? Why do we need neutral between 1st and second gear?

Can't we have a separate switch or peg or some thing to get the bike into neutral. Yes I'm a weak toed lazy newbie, but jeez I hate hitting a false neutral in the middle of a technical section.

why is that neutral between 1st and 2nd gear to begin with? Give me a separate neutral foot peg or hand lever or something. Please get that neutral position out of my shifting sequence. 😢

good idea or not?

neutral needs to be there, but i too was always curious why it wasnt in the beginning of hte sequence such as neutral, 1,2,3,4,5 instead of the way it is. But theres probably a good reason for it so just accept it for what it is a learn how to not get those false neutrals. It must be possible, i dont hear bubba or ricky complaining. 😢

ive thought of having it at the bottom, but when i get into some tough [@#$%&*!]....i wanna kno that i can just click down with my life and know that im in 1st. it would be handy in some situations, but on a reall huge hill or something, i feel more comfortable knowing that 1 is at the bottom...not neutral. i aggree, it should be on the handlebars or something, but a different peg would get complicated. i believe its between 1st and second, cause if youre just revving, you dont wanna say shift into 3rd and then neutral, just either take off in 1st or 2nd, primary gears for taking off in.

I don't think that could work because you can't be in a gear AND in neutral at the same time. You see the fault? In order to be in neutral, you must have all other gears disengaged. So it might as well be all on the same lever.