Sign in to follow this  

Ran out of free sag before setting race sag...

Okay, I'm confused. I'm new to the whole suspension game. I have an '04 WR450. I weigh 210 lbs without gear. So I went to the "Race Tech" calculator to see what springs I needed and it told me I needed a 5.4 in the rear and the fronts were fine. So I ordered the 5.4 and put it on. I went to set the race sag at 95mm but before I got past 120mm I ran out of free sag. 😢 What's wrong, because I'm pretty sure that's not right. 😢 I want to go riding this weekend but I need to have it right. I have a friend that said I might not get any free sag because it is a new spring, but I want more opinions.

Make sure your spring is really a 5.4.It should a some numbers on it.Usually the last two numbers should be 54.Sounds like something is not right to be topping out with only 120mm of sag. 😢

Again, reason to NOT go by "spring calculators"...you could have asked here and someone would have gotten it right. TT is a greatplace for info! Shocdoc probably would have told you what ya needed before anyone... 😢

Anyway, at 210lbs, you would probably need a minimum of one size stiffer than stock, and maybe even two sizes. I.E., if stock is a 5.5 then you would need a 5.7 most likely.

Another thing is, start by trying to set your stock spring first. If you run out of static sag before you have race sag set, you would have known you needed a stiffer spring. And vice versa, if you had too much static sag after getting the correct race sag then you would need to go softer on the spring rate...your stock rate is easily found in the manual or online...

For instance my CRF450 came with a 5.5 rated spring...Race Tech calculator told me I should keep the stock spring at 245lbs!!! There is NO way in hell I could get free/static sag proportions correct with that spring! I needed a 5.9 to get it right. NOW, I have lost weight (50lbs) and I am going to a "true" 5.7 spring. Anyway...sorry to vent... 😢 :cry: