Sign in to follow this  

'00 S Forks / Upgrade or Replace

TLRick's post got me thinking and but I found myself digressing...

I too hate my forks and at 200#, I know I need at least to respring but am debating between:

- Upgrade current damping-rod forks with RaceTech springs and cartridge emulators

or

-Buy used RM or DRZ cartidge forks (which I assume I'll still need to respring for my weight)

I'm assuming the cost of buying the used forks with new springs will be more than the doing the Racetech upgrade on my current forks.

Will the ride be DRAMATICALLY better with new cartridge forks ???

Hi. I'm TLRick and my post prompted this post...I'm so proud that I am contributing...at least with lot's of questions. 😢

My question is along the same lines and I too am about or a little over 200 pounds but I am a novice rider with one dirt ride under my belt with next weekend being my second dirt ride. I am probably going to leave things as is and see how it goes but there is a yearning inside of me to have a fully adjustable suspension to play with. I am confused and feeling frustrated and on and off pondering selling my '01 and trying to find an '02 but that would take a lot of timing unless I want to put off dirt riding for a while. Besides, I really don't have the money to spare to sell my bike for say $3,000 and buy an '02 for $3,500. It would make more sense to just upgrade the shock/fork for $500 or buy a used one (If I can find one which so far, I can't) and put that on. Help me with my suspension whoa's please...put my mind at ease...Sounds like a song huh? 😢

There are a few guys out there who have done the RaceTech cartridge emulator upgrade. It would be great to have some feedback of performance vs. cost.

From a cost perspective, I'm reluctant to buy used forks as they will probably have to be rebuilt not to mention resprung for my 200# body.

If the performance is comparable and the RaceTech upgrade is cheaper, I'd rather fix what I have.