Sign in to follow this  

Another New Gal- Thumpette?

Hello been doing a fair amount of reading and decided this maybe just the place for me. I've been seriously considering my second bike and am leaning toward a DR after ruling out a BMW K1200S too spendy and probably not the right direction for me. Not sure which yet thinking the DRZ400 and yes I did read the beginner biker sticky. It didn't really address someone in my circumstances.

I've been riding a 1996 Suzuki Bandit 600 for 3 years now and thoroughly love it. I'm ready to expand in the knowledge department mechanically and riding wise. I'm thinking a DR would be the cheap/best route to go, but I need it to be street legal. I'm guessing a DR would be great practice for riding in the rain, snow, ice, sleet, hail and won't hurt the pocket book as bad when I biff it.

To make things interesting in the choice department I'm 5'0 and weigh a whopping 138 and dropping 😢 I have natural athletic ability and am not too worried about weight. I can pick up my Bandit (490+ pounds) the few times I've dropped it. I'm more worried about height, I live in a hilly area.

Also looks to be a good bike to learn about tearing down carbs, synching valves and messing with cams. I bought the DH the tools last Christmas, but I'm shy to tear into my perfectly mechanically running Bandit just for the heck of it.

Anyway, nice site you all have here and I'm looking forward to learning more.

Ps- Thumpette???? where did that come from? Reminds me of a whiny blue chick that lived in a mushroom (smurfette)

PPS- Nice to see such an active ladies forum 😢