Sign in to follow this  

How much to have tires mounted up at dealer?

I'm fairly new to riding and this is the first time I've bought tires. I'm looking at some online, but wondering what a dealer might charge me to mount them up. And I assume they'll need to be balanced too right?

It really depends on the dealer and what mood they are in, anywhere from 10 to 20 a tire would be a guesstimate if you didn't buy them there.

If you get a good deal on the tires why not continue and fit them yourself, or get some friends that have changed them before to help, its easy once you do it a few times.

Always useful to know how to do as the shops are not always open if you have a flat and riding off-road flat tires are inevitable.

Read this it has good info http://www.cycoactive.com/mc/trail_tips/ctiw.html

It varies quite alot, but I've seen any where from 10 to 25 dollars per tire.

I had this one shop , that as long as I bought the tire from them, they'd mount and balance for free. It was great.

Then they stopped that, and the price would be $15, but I had a heavy tube, and they wanted $10 extra for that. Pretty much ended getting it done there.

I've pretty much gone back to my old way, of ordering the best Net prices, and mount myself. Then run it down just to spin balance, 7 to $9 .

I just had my "Deathwings" replaced with dunlop 606's. the dealer charged me $20 a piece to mount and balance the tires. I had them install rim locks so it took 4 weights per wheel.

I've pretty much gone back to my old way, of ordering the best Net prices, and mount myself. Then run it down just to spin balance, 7 to $9 .

Spud, I used to worry about balance that much. I finally just started doing a static balance myself with the axle across 2 jack stands. Has worked fine even for my SV650 track bike up to 120 +.