Sign in to follow this  

New carb or just new jetting?

I've been reading for awhile, but this is my first time posting. I've been riding a 2001 KLX300 for a season and really enjoy the bike. This is my first bike after 10+ years of not riding. My last bikes were two-stroke race bikes, so I'm used to a little more snap. It sounds like the Dynojet jetting kits help the KLX, but that a new carb maybe even a better option. Is a new carb worth the money? What carb is recommended? The local KTM dealer is a great guy and has a little experience with the KLX (I know, it's wierd, but he's really more of a rider than a salesman). He says that the new carb will really wake the bike up. What source should I use for the parts?

Thanks,

Jason.

2001 KLX300, 2003 CRF150

It might be worth the $60 for the dynojet kit to see if it is enough for you, compared to $500 for a new carb. I've never ridden a KLX with a pumper, but I know the dynojet really made a difference.

The dynojet kit will really help out. Will it be enough?? I don't know your needs, but I'd say it's worth a shot.

The dynojet kit will really help out. Will it be enough?? I don't know your needs, but I'd say it's worth a shot.

Thanks for the input, I'll probably go with the Dynojet kit. A lot of my riding is with my wife, who is new to the sport anyway.

Try the dynojet and make sure you remove the tiny exhaust tip from the stock muffler. Both mods make a big difference.