Fuel Switch on DRZ400

Does anyone know what PRI means on the fuel switch of a DRZ400? And also what could happen if you ride the bike with the switch in that position for extended periods of time. Oh, yes... I am a beginner to this so detailed answers would be much appreciated. Thk. 😢

The Pri setting allows fuel to free flow into the carb. It's normally only used when you've run the bike dry and need to get some fuel into the carb to start it.

One of the smarter guys will have to tell you if it causes damage. 😢

The petcock on your bike is vacuum operated.. in the On and reserve position.. IOW it only allows fuel to flow in the ON and reserve position if engine vacuum is present. This keeps you from having to shut off the fuel when you park the bike.

As was already said,, the Pri or Prime position is not vac controlled, and used anytime you want flow with the motor running,,,like when you have run it out of gas,, and need to get some in the carb BEFORE it will start.....and produce vacuum.

If all things are working right,, running it in pri position will have no ill effect,, it's just suppling gas like the other two positions.. BUT,, in the Pri position,,,with fuel flow at all times,,, it could cause the carb to over fill when not in use,,, As in parked, or being trailered. hence the reason most off road bikes have an off position.. same principle on the DRZ S,, but it is an automatic off, via the vacuum operated petcock.

• Like 1

Is that any different then the ON position on the same switch? 😢

the on and reserve positions of the fuel switch require vacuum pressure before fuel will flow. this is why you can remove the fuel tank with the switch in the on position and not have fuel all over the garage. the pri position just opens the valve like turning on the faucet.

hope it helps. 😢