Sign in to follow this  

Custom Snow Tires

I was searching through the threads on snow tires and the majority I've found are dealing with studding tires or using a ski on the front. While the snow here doesn't get that deep usually to need a ski, it does help to have some metal poking out of the tires to get you along. Below are links to my current creation of snow tires. I've been making different types of designs for the past 5 years. The front one could use some work as it's a little difficult to ride on pavement. The rear hooks like a mother, though. Last years design had paddles every other set of knobs but these Dunlops wouldn't allow me to do that w/the reused paddles. Anyway, here's my tires:

Front - http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/b/t/btb139/misc_images/snowtirefrt.jpg

Rear - http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/b/t/btb139/misc_images/snowtirerr.jpg

If you've made your own too, please post up pics in here. I'd like to see different designs/ideas.

O my lord you should be able to go in more than snow 😢

good job.. make sure to give us a ride report when the snow comes.

o yea that should be fun getting those on the rim.. huh. 😢

Well, I've ridden with a similar design in the past and in ~ 6" of snow I could still pull wheelies in 4th. 😢 Last years tire was more of a mud/paddle design, but it was a no-name brand tire in 100/90 size. Quite hard to get on the rim of my 450. This rear tire I used was a 110/90 and with 1/2 as many pieces of angled steel I'm thinking it will mount easier. Either way, extra padding on the knees during changing is a must. 😢

How do they handle on the pavement. Probably like crap. Do you think those will get chewed up easily/worn easily on pavement?

yeah i'm sure it will chew it up, not to mention the front tire will be going crazy, and god forbid it you turn and it stops balancing on the metal, and your tire slips out