Sign in to follow this  

storage help please!

I can't ride my drz for about 4 month during winter. I keep it in a heated garage, do I need to do anything besides a full tank of gas and get it off the wheels. Drain the carb or not? should I start it every week? What is the best for heated storage. Any experienced advice is appreciated. Thanks.

There is no need for storage!!!! Travel to the unsnowy area!!! Just playing!!! if you have an S you might want to start it a couple times a month so the battery dosen't die. Or even disconnect it and charge it when your ready to go. 😢 Personally i would drain the gas tank if your garage is heated. Who knows what everyone else thinks. Also I would just do a good lube job and clean it well for next spring. Im still new to the whole dirt bike world but thoughts help.

I can't ride my drz for about 4 month during winter. I keep it in a heated garage, do I need to do anything besides a full tank of gas and get it off the wheels. Drain the carb or not? should I start it every week? What is the best for heated storage. Any experienced advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Clean it. Fill the tank. Add gas stablizer. Drain the carb. Take the battery out. Store battery someplace that does not freeze. Keep fully charged. (above 12.6 volts) That's it.

I was overseas (USAF) for 3 1/2 months earlier this year. I put StaBil in the tank and ran it util the treated gas was in the carb. Didn't drain the float bowl. Removed battery and took it inside. When I got back I charged the battery for a few hours and the bike started right up. Did the same for 3 other bikes, all started and ran fine. YMMV

This is what I'm thinking I would do. Leave the old gas in the carb so it turns into varnish. In the Spring, use the gummed-up carb as justification to upgrade to a FCR39. 😢

"Oh honey, I didn't know I had to drain the gas. Now, I have to buy a new carburetor. I'll never do that again."