Sign in to follow this  

Same old question -- 250 or 450

Hello, my name is Jim (alias -- MO_XR400). Just sold my trusty old steed (XR400). I need to replace it with the best bike possible. What I thought would be an easy task has turned into a complete headache. 😢

Before making a large purchase (i.e., TV, car, etc.) I like to perform a detailed anlysis to ensure that I purchasing the best product for the money. I've found myself doing the same thing with the bike search. So....I turn to you, my good friends, for clarification.

Here's my story...I'm 34 years old, 6' tall and ~220 geared up. I live in Kansas City and prefer to ride in the woods. The trails around here are not as tight as what they have back east, but they can still be pretty challenging. I've been riding for several years (KDX220, DRZ400, XR400)...I'm not the fastest guy in the group, but not the slowest either.

So far I've look at the following bikes: Honda (CRF250x and CRF450x), KTM (400EXC and 450EXC), Yamaha (WR250F and WR450F). From my research, I've ruled out all but the WR250 and WR450. Cost and reliability were the main concerns.

Now I have it down to two choices! Whew!

Things that I am currently thinking about...The 250 would probably be a ton of fun in the woods (where you never get out of 2-3 gear). Sounds like it might be a little down on power stock though. I'll plan on doing the mods and also would look into Dr.D, PowerNow, JD kit, etc. The bike sounds perfect, I'm just concerned about big rocky hills climbs or other areas where you need to putt along (torque!) and pick your lines carefully. I found this easier on the XR and DRZ than I did with the KDX.