Sign in to follow this  

1997 Yamaha xt350 running lean

Hi all, first post. Great site!!!

I have little motorcycle knowledge but tons of car knowledge. I read up on motorcycle carburetors and I think I have it down. here's the question(s).

This is a brand new carburetor with stock jetting and it seems to be running lean at idle and through part throddle. When I got it back from the shop (who put the carb on) it would barly keep an idle at 1800 rpm and even stall sometimes. If you gradually started to give it gas it would studder and pop. Sounds like typical lean scenario.

Question 1) I go to see how far out the fuel screw is turned out and it is three turns. Seems really far but it is running lean. I give it about 3 more turns out (now at 6 turns) and it runs GREAT at idle. I can even get it to keep an idle at 1200 RPM (could never do that before). So why would a stock carb have such a lean pilot jet? That is at least what I assume this problem is.

Question 2) Now that is is running good at idle, before at part throddle it would studder pretty hard but now it only does it slightly. Would that mean the needle jet is also running lean?

Question 3) Like I said, I'm new at this. Can someone recommend a web site where I can get a jetting kit for a 1997 Yamaha XT350 non-california?

Thanks for all your help,

Scott

Scott

What carborator does that model use? What you are descibing sounds like a plugged or way too small pilot. If it where mine I would drop the pilot out, don't go blasting it with compressed air, that may clear it but then we will not know what was going on!!

1: Hold it to the light and see if it was clear, If not blow very lightly to remove gas and look again if clear we need bigger! If blurry blow hard, if now clear we have water in the gas. Re-install and toss an once of rubbing alcohol into the gas tank, this will break the surface tension of the water and it will pass thru rather than plug the pilot;

(notes: