Sign in to follow this  

Stipped Bolt?

I have a stripped out engine oil drain bolt. I've tried wrenches and everything to get it off! Can anyone give me any ideas? 😢

Heres a suggestion that might help ya out. theres a set a pliers you can get from sears called alligator pliers there just simply awesome i am a long time mechanic and i will swear by these pliers. i have used them numerous times in situations such as this and haven't been let down. I am sure these will get the bolt out for you no problem. heres a link to the pliers that I m describing to you http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item.asp?P65=&tool=all&item_ID=6897&group_ID=755&store=snapon-store&dir=catalog

now this shows them from snap on but you can get them at sears or a local auto parts store for a few bucks less i am sure.

If You Can Get A Bite On The Bolt With Pliers Or Something, Take A Propane Torch And Heat The Surrounding Areas, But Not The Bolt. Don't Get It Too Hot To Melt Gaskets And Stuff, But It Will Make The Case Expand And Make The Bolt Easier To Get Out.

Heres a suggestion that might help ya out. theres a set a pliers you can get from sears called alligator pliers there just simply awesome i am a long time mechanic and i will swear by these pliers. i have used them numerous times in situations such as this and haven't been let down. I am sure these will get the bolt out for you no problem. heres a link to the pliers that I m describing to you http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item.asp?P65=&tool=all&item_ID=6897&group_ID=755&store=snapon-store&dir=catalog

now this shows them from snap on but you can get them at sears or a local auto parts store for a few bucks less i am sure.

Thanks A Bunch! 😢

Use a sharp chizzle and a hammer to loosen the bolt. You want to strike in the counterclockwise direction to loosen using a little bit of an angle into the piece the bolt is attaching.