Sign in to follow this  

Apple Valley To Randburg Ride, 1/15/05

I'll be hosting a fun/challenging dualsport ride from my house in Apple Valley Ca. to Randsburg Ca. and back on January 15th and have decided to toss out an invite to the TT crew to join our Hi Dez/ 100's MC posse.

The ride will be at least 160 miles in length, and will take 8-9 hours with an hour for lunch and fuel stop in Johannesburg. You should be at least an intermediate type rider that can travel a long distance at a moderate "gentlmans pace". You will need to have a fuel range of at least 80 miles, and be able to fix a flat on the trail or at least carry tools and supplies to do so. The ride will be about 25% road and pavement, with lots of sandwash, single track and jeep roads making up the rest of the ride.

We'll be on the road no later than 7:30 and should return at dusk.

This will be a follow the leader type ride (me), and I promise an absolutely epic ride. I have over 25 years experience riding, racing, and guiding in the high desert.

Anyone interested?

if you still hava room, please count 2 more riders,both on 05 wr450, s. we live in ventura you can call 805 985 9360 or email directions,sounds like a great ride Terry Nicholsundefined

if you still hava room, please count 2 more riders,both on 05 wr450, s. we live in ventura you can call 805 985 9360 or email directions,sounds like a great ride Terry Nicholsundefined

Terry,

Yes I have room. Are your bikes plated? If not i can have you stage at an area about 15 minutes from my house, we can pick you up on the way out of town. I can't modify the route, and it has a few miles of public highway that is very rural.

Glenn

Surfdog,

Is your ride still on for the 15th. I have an '04 ktm 450exc. The tank size is only 2.2 gals. I thought I might be pushing it to make 80 miles, but we rode today in the high desert, 48 miles, and I only used 1.2 gals. I could not believe it when I filled the tank. That comes out to 40 mpg. 2.2x40=88 miles.