Sign in to follow this  

Husky will be my next bike. should I keep the DRZ

I have been riding bikes for the last six months and researching rides too. I'll save you the long story and just say I will be getting a new 05 husky TE-510 one day. I can't afford it yet...maybe in 6-8 months. I rode a TE-450 and I tell ya fellas it is the only bike that has that smooth power feeling like the DRZ out there. moree power then my 400 S but soulfull power while all the yamahas and KTMs and hondas have this complexx high compression putter feel. the husky felt like home to me.

My plan has been to keep my DRZ s model as my dual sport and my trusty back up. I am fully 98% dirt now. I find I don't really care for dual sport events - too much road. I do like my CA license very much and some of the areas I ride its nice to link up trails acroos some road.....but ya know what thos link ups are so few. I really dont need a dual sport license tag. its just not that important to me as I am all dirt rider. I would never put DOT tires on my DRZ again.

So my problem is I am ready for a DIRT bike, not the world's best dual sport. the DRZ S model is a compromise 80/20 bike as it has to be. I love that husky, but can't afford two bikes till next year when my car payment ends......... but why hold on to a HEavy dual sport if I will be riding the crap out of my new bike? the only reason left is to have two bikes so that i have a back up if the husky needs an extra repair that takes some days, then i have my trusty DRZ as back up. The thing is the DRZ is heavy. I'm ready for a lighter more all dirt bike.

hell bottom line I still owe $4500 on the DRZ as I buried some ride gear and suspension in the bank loan, and even with all the stuff I've added, at 6000 miles with lots of scratches , my 03 DR-Z400S probably wont sale for waht do ya think? 3500?