Sign in to follow this  

Corners - Road to Dirt

I am new to the world of dirt and am enjoying it immensely. I have one major problem and I am not sure if it has to do with my road racing technique and without thinking taking it to dirt. I find when I corner that the front wheel wipes out all the time. Everyone keeps telling me more power will fix it. To me it feels like it makes it worse. I have come to grips with using nowhere near as much front brake as you would on a road bike but am not sure if the way I am turning is causing the front wheel wash out. On the road you would lean the bike with you body down and to lay the bike down you would, on a left turn, push on the left grip turning the wheel to the right slightly to lay the bike. Would this be causing my front wheel washing problems? I am at a loss as no one at the track rides on the road. I know someone here can help so thanks in advance people

When you first switch from road to dirt, you feel like you're going to crash all of the time. Im not trying to insult you (i switched frmo street to dirt as well) but are you sure the front end is washing out? Its typical for your bike to go all over the place underneeth you, its just a matter of how much you slide.

In a turn, are you standing or sitting? Is your weight over the front of rear tire? Are you touching the front brakes at all?

I was in the same boat. I went from the 2 greatest extremes. TZ125 GP bike to CR125 dirtbike. It took me a year, actually I'm still learning. In my 2nd year of dirt and I love it. GP racing got too expensive.

I totally changed my riding style. I ride MX style now and use that in Supermoto.

The great thing about dirtbikes is that you can get to practice a lot. Of course the more you ride the better you get. Let the bike move under you and you will

get used to sticking out your leg.

I ride with a bunch of good riders of all backgrounds willing to help out.