Sign in to follow this  

Getting a crf250r tomorow...

Im a thumper noob...Anything in peticular i should do? Im gonna vent the air hoses, get some no-toil air filters and oil, bills exhaust, and just a few looks upgrades...I weigh 150 lbs and from what I hear thats a good weight for the crfs stock spring rate...Is that correct? Off course ill break it in, change the oil regularly, all that stuff... The oil is seperate so can i run 2 stroke tranny oil in the transmision on it? Thanks in advance :cry:

no-toil air filters and oil
NoToil oil, cleaner and grease are great and I use them all. My only experience with the NoToil air filter was not good. It wouldn't seal to the air box on my XR400. I'd suggest getting a few OEM filters and stay with stock - they're pretty good.
I weigh 150 lbs and from what I hear thats a good weight for the crfs stock spring rate...Is that correct?
You'll probably be on the light side, but pretty close with the stock springs. The X has slightly softer springs than the R (according to Ramsey, 4.8/0.42 for the X versus 5.3/0.45 for the R) and I get perfect race/static sag at 155 lbs.
break it in
Hard break-in seems to work best with these engines. Here's what I did and I've had zero oil useage in 380 miles.
The oil is seperate so can i run 2 stroke tranny oil in the transmision on it?
Yes. I use only Pro Honda HP Trans Oil (red bottle). Good stuff.

One last thing. I burst my front tube over a relatively small rock nearly two weeks ago. You might want to upgrade to HD tubes before you have to.

...I weigh 150 lbs and from what I hear thats a good weight for the crfs stock spring rate...Is that correct?
I run the "R" model and I agree with skipn8r - you'll get a much better setup with lighter springs/shock (.42 and 4.8 or 5.0). You can get it dialed pretty close with the stock but you really get the sweet treatment with the lighter stuff on there. :cry: