Sign in to follow this  

New bike reliablity issues

Hello,

I've been riding and racing for 25 years and lately I have seen a decline in reliabilty in the new generation thumpers. I have raced a Can-Am 560 a half dozen XR's and a 2000 TE410. These bikes were bullet proof compared to what I am seeing of todays machines. I don't want to here dealer hype or magazine editors opinions of bikes beaten half to death by a staff of moto-heads.

What are your opinions of the new generation husky's and their ability to keep me on the trail without rebuilding it like a 125 every 6 harescrambles?

This will hopefully help me decide whether or not I will keep the 410 and update the suspension or buy a new TE.

Thanksin advance,

Michael,

Massillon, Ohio

I have an 04-TE450 around 100 hours. checked valves after every 20-25hrs, only out of specs twice, bike is awsome!:cry:

Kraig

Gotta agree with you about most new bikes being fragile. It stems from the engineers taking every ounce of weight off and using all the parts made from expensium to compete as racers. Us average guys don't need that but get stuck with the overhaul costs anyway. The new Husky's are cleverly designed and well built and really don't suffer like the jap bikes do. The big deal with all these products are the valves and the Husky design compares with a Honda XR for ease of maintenance. Nobody else gets close in this matter. My TE510 has about 800 miles on it, mostly GP and HS, and it looks and runs like new. Just adjust the valves and keep it clean and oiled and it will last a long time.

so far i've had 1 jap four stroke (blew up) and two euro bikes (ktm sold!) and husqvarna (still have). the euros are way better; the quality has yet to be matched by the big four!! 'just putting renthal bars on just doesn't cut it' :cry::cry:

i had a CRF250X die on me 4 months ago...it was an 8 month old bike!

no way i would buy a CRF450X..first year bikes are always a handfull.