Sign in to follow this  

1984 xr250r restoration

ok i purchased an 1984 xr250r today for 100$can for my dad.so needless to say it needs work but i want to present it to him in mint condition. we've never rode together and now he's 52 and about time he started. moms gonna be pissed but to bad.So apon first visual inspection the olny thing its missing is the carb and some choke looking mechanism on the top right side of motor, its half there. The motor strokes fine and gearbox works fine. Front suspension sloppy but rear seems fine with no play. Brakes work good, is disc front drum rear.Last known use of the bike it worked great just someone played with the carb and now its gone. I know the first step is gettin a manual but i would like to hear from everyone about anything on this bike. Frames mint wheels are mint. I'll spend whatever it takes to go on just one ride with him and im starting tonight. I'll have many ?'s over the next few weeks .Im a rookie at all this. Anyhow thanks for any advise in advance.

Cool. I just bought an 85 xr350 a few weeks back. Trying to glean whatever info I can on these good ole bikes.

Watch ebay for manuals. i watch it for parts too. There are guys parting out al the time.

If it's the decompression lever stuff you can take the cable off as you'll never need it.

The lever on the head is the decomp.

Carbs are gonna be expensive for a good set. Watch ebay. I wouldnt sink too much money into it. Take some pics so we can see what kind of shape its in.

These bikes are notorious for running hot and frying the head/valves. If you can find a set of carbs cheap then make sure to run good synthetic motorcycle oil. Its really not a great beginner bike for tight stuff, it needs to be ridden at a brisk pace or it will get hot. If your dad is just going to be riding fire roads then it will be fine.