Sign in to follow this  

Reassembling the engine

Not completely, I only replaced the cam chain.

Now I want to reassemble it, and I was wondering if I have to lube the cams and journals with regular oil or something else?

And when done that, do I just fill it with coolant, oil, push the magic button and pray she gets all her fluids in time at the right places? :cry:

I don't want my engine to seize, I hope you can understand that :cry:

I asked the same question on z400central, got some opinions, but I insist on getting even more opinions so I don't mess things up. This is my first time you know :cry:

tnx! :cry:

The book calls for the use of "molly paste" on the cams.... I'll tell ya that good, new oil has always worked well for me. I have some Assembly lube on the shelf,, and have used it a few times,, when I think the bike will sit for awhile before start up,, But if it is assembly and go,, nothing but oil.

If new cams are put in service I'd use suzuki recommended moly paste.If used

I'd use motorcycle specific engine oil.I'd hate to think what a good meaning

auto techs comp cams moly paste would to do to your clutch pack :cry:

If new cams are put in service I'd use suzuki recommended moly paste.If used

I'd use motorcycle specific engine oil.I'd hate to think what a good meaning

auto techs comp cams moly paste would to do to your clutch pack :cry:

New or used cams,, no difference.. If your starting the motor op that day, or the next,, use oil.. If it will set,, a LIGHT smearing of assembly lube might be called for.

Your going to change the oil just a few minutes after start up anyway.. so what little molly from the cams might get in to the oil,, and circulate is not that big a deal.. Or at least in 20 years,, has not proven to be one for me.

tnx a lot!!! :cry:

Your going to change the oil just a few minutes after start up anyway...

Will I? :cry::cry: